NPCs Do More Than Give Quests

They Give Your Game Substance Too

Michelle Kwan
5 min readDec 22, 2023
Timmie the NPC is renowned in the Genshin World (Source: Reddit)

From what I know, there are two types of gamers. Ones who only approach NPCs for quests, and those who go out of their way to talk to every. single. NPC in-game.

I’m not going to explicitly say which category I belong in (though I think it’s pretty obvious, hence this article), and I’m not judging either type of player. But NPCs may play a larger part than you realise, consciously or unconsciously.

Turns out, NPCs do more than give quests. They are what brings life to a world, here’s why every game needs NPCs beyond its basic functionality of quest-giving.

Building Believability

I don’t need to talk about how NPCs’ designs and dialogue reveal a world’s history, culture, beliefs and more. We all know that. Game Designers have known that too since the beginning of time. That’s why NPCs exist.

But most seem to underestimate how NPCs add believability to games. We may not even pay them a second glance when we run past them for the umpteenth time during missions, but if they are gone, the world would just become a flat floor with buildings. And unless you are in an abandoned town, there’s no way you believe that a city without a single person exists right?

--

--

Michelle Kwan

Aspiring Narrative Designer/Game Writer + Avid Storyteller. I mostly write about games, but sometimes I go off-track and write about other things too.