Building My Portfolio: Writing Game Dialogue

I wrote some dialogue for my portfolio for the first time, and it was surprisingly difficult

Michelle Kwan
6 min readDec 12, 2023
Scrivener is super easy to grasp and tons of fun to write in.

It is about time I started writing my own dialogue. I have always had an idea on the back burner, but never dared to put it down on paper. And since I just discovered the scriptwriting feature on Scrivener, what better way to test it out than writing a short piece of dialogue sample for my portfolio?

Here are some of the thought processes that I had into how I wanted to sculpt the scene, and what I wrote to do just that.

Story Background

The scene I wanted to write in my head stemmed from a fantasy story I had in mind. Our protagonist, Shireen, is a bright scholar at the Skyship Academy but realises that the city is too reliant on the harmful magic that fuels the skyships. In an effort to stop the academy and the government from harming the city, she joins an underground effort to destroy the power source of the magic, only to find out she was betrayed by the organisation. Not only does the organisation want the magic for themselves, but she now has to face the consequences herself as the scapegoat of the group she worked so hard for.

--

--

Michelle Kwan

Aspiring Narrative Designer/Game Writer + Avid Storyteller. I mostly write about games, but sometimes I go off-track and write about other things too.